h1

Up with the larks?

July 1, 2008

Are you a mornings person?

Can you leap out of bed bright and early, with a smile on your face and be expectant of the day that lies ahead, ready to embrace it with open arms? Or do you hit snooze on that alarm clock, roll over & try to get a few more minutes shut eye, before stumbling into the shower & then grabbing a cup of tea to make you feel human again?

I’m afraid I’m more of the second type. I wake up & wish I could stay in bed for that extra half hour, debate whether I’ll have time for some more sleep and try to make the most of those last few minutes in bed.

I wish I was a mornings person though <sigh>

Take today, it’s a beautiful day here, the sun is shining, the sky is blue and there’s the promise of a great day ahead. But did I see that when I woke up? Nope. I just couldnt appreciate it then and wanted to roll over and go back to sleep. So I missed out on the chance to just sit & relax and look out into the garden basking in sunshine and start my day slowly.

I’d love to be able to change myself into a mornings person but according to this article that I read a while ago, I dont think that’s possible as we’re already programmed to be one way or another.

So it looks like the only way I’m going to see those early mornings is if I’m still up from the night before!

Leave a Reply

