h1

going on a journey …

August 6, 2008

Well I’m about to embark on a journey and a long journey at that. That’s great, you might say, wish I was going somewhere. But no, it’s not all so great really. Yes I love travelling, I love seeing different places, experiencing different cultures, tasting new foods, meeting new people and just immersing myself in another way of life. And if I could just click my fingers and get there in like a nano second I’d be eternally grateful. But no, it doesnt work like that, does it?

First there’s the getting up early thing, and when I say early I mean like really early, before the birds are even contemplating waking up early, just so that I can get to the airport with the required amount of time to spare ready and waiting to check in.

Checkin, there’s another thing, nowadays it seems that they need 3 hours for you to join a queue, show them your passport (no ticket of course, not in this age of e-tickets) be asked the standard “did you pack your case yourself” questions, and then wave your case goodbye in the vain hope that you might actually meet up with it again at the other side!

Ok, so checkin is completed, you then have security to face. Yes I’m one of those people that they always choose to examine more closely, or empty out my bag that I carefully packed the night before. Why? Who knows! So you throw away your bottle of water because that’s not allowed any more, and then you join another snake-like queue along with everyone else. Once you get to the scanners, you have to show them your little plastic bag with any liquids you might have & try not to look guilty as you go through the metal detectors. (Why is it that I always feel guilty anyway?)

Hopefully you make it through all of this fairly smoothly and so there you are, through to departures, faced with shops selling all those things you werent allowed to bring through in your hand luggage. You’ve probably still got 2 hours to waste before your flight, but they’re hoping you’ll spend lots of money whilst you wait! But at least a flight is in sight, well almost 😉

So what with all of this before you even set foot on an aircraft, it’s amazing if you’re not already feeling a little stressed and wishing you could just curl up in a ball and sleep through the rest of it.

I’m hoping it will all go like clockwork, that I’ll be feeling bright & breezy by the time I sit down on my seat onboard and prepare for take-up. But if I’m honest, I dont expect that to be the case. Another side of me is dreading it and wishing I could really give that clicking the fingers thing a go!

I’ll post again once I get there, if you’re interested …

3 comments

  1. Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!


  2. thanks Alex, it’s always good to know someone appreciates what you write. 🙂


  3. […] still on a journey August 19, 2008 Well so far so good. I’m pleased to say that the journey over here proved very uneventful and in fact, it was all a bit of a breeze, disturbingly so. It was […]



Leave a Reply

