h1

smaller means better?

September 10, 2008

Apple have just announced that their iPod nanos are going to be even smaller! Er, well correct me if I’m wrong, but arent they already fairly small? Isnt the clue in the name, I mean “nano”, that’s the idea isnt it?

Ok, so Apple in their wisdom have decided that the Nano needs to be smaller, that if they make it that bit thinner, then sales will go through the roof. Far be it for me to disagree with them, after all Apple are renowned for knowing that they’re talking about, they have had one or two small successess in the past šŸ˜‰ but I’m really not convinced that this will change people’s buying habits.

So let me ask you, are you going to throw away your Nano, rush out and buy the new improved one?

I very much doubt it! Granted you might be tempted to upgrade from a Nano to a standard iPod, or from the iPod to the iTouch, but just to upgrade to a slimmer version? Hmm, I’m not so sure.

Time will tell if I’m talking rubbish or whether Apple were spot on in their research findings that us users, in these times of economic crisis, will rush to the shops just for a new improved nano.

The strength of their marketing machine might make all the difference here, and at the end of the day that is what marketing does, doesnt it? It sees what the market needs and gives it to them, even if it’s something that the market doesnt realise it needs. So perhaps we will all realise that big isnt beautiful and small is best! šŸ™‚

One comment

  1. Small is best! But small enough that I can’t even figure out the buttons? I’m too old for tiny little machines:)

    But here’s the best website ever if you are short like me (not saying you are moonflower—have no idea:)

    Advantages to shorter height:
    http://www.shortsupport.org/Research/samaras.html



Leave a Reply

