h1

bonding with fellow man

November 24, 2008

bondingI was standing in a queue the other day in a well known department store, (alongside what felt like most of the population it has to be said) and it just struck me how easily we bond with other people when faced with a common goal. In this case it was actually getting to the till so that we could get out of the mayheim, but nevertheless I still got a sense of that pulling togetherness, the British blitz spirit thing! Or perhaps that’s just me? 🙂

So anyway, there I was, minding my own business, when I felt compelled to join in the conversation with other customers in the queue. I didnt know them. I’d never seen them before. They didnt even invite me to take part in the conversation. So why was it that I just turned around and start talking to these complete strangers out of the blue?

What was that all about?

There seemed nice enough. Two woman, who equally didnt know each other but who found themselves talking as they stood in that queue, not moving! Now we didnt get into any great political debates. We didnt try to put the world to right. In fact it was pretty general chit chat if I’m honest, but it was kinda nice all the same. Do you know what I mean?

So I’m complaining at all. It’s nice to think that we can do that, just turn around & start sharing things with people who we come into contact with. That in this day and age, we can bond with our fellow human beings over a shopping queue even if only for a few minutes. Well that gives me some hope for humanity!

Leave a Reply

