h1

human rights, for insects! ??!

November 24, 2008

insect1Yes ok, I know that’s not possible and perhaps i should’ve just said “rights for insects” or even “equality for insects” but come on, really? The whole topic seems so ridiculous to me that I thought it warranted a more ironic title.

So anyway, coming back to the point in hand …

Why all this furore over the mistreatment of insects on the television programme “I’m a celebrity, get me out of here”? Isnt this just madness? Is it really even worth debating?

Now I wouldnt eat stick insects or cockroaches myself, and if I’m honest the mere thought of it gives me shivers down my spine, but if some people do? Well good luck to them! And yes, I know that this is “normal” food in some parts of the world and that this example is really just a means of entertainment. Entertainment? Hmm, that’s debatable. But each to his own.

But at the end of the day, is it really worth campaigning for the rights of insects, no matter how vital they are to the circle of life?

In my humble opinion, no! But I stand to be corrected on this one.

Leave a Reply

