h1

New Year reflections

January 1, 2009

New Year – a time of new beginnings, of resolutions, of  plans for the future, reminiscing the past, wondering what will be in the future.  Hmm, quite a time of reflection.

happy_new_year

So what does the new year have in store for us?

Well none of us can ever know that and perhaps it’s better that way.  But I’m hoping 2009 will be a good year, at least better than 2008.  A year when perhaps I will find myself, I’ll discover that niche I’m looking for, that purpose, that one thing I should be doing or perhaps that one person I should know.

I dont make resolutions any more.  I’ve done that in the past.  You know how it is, you start off great guns on the 1st of January and a week later (or perhaps longer if you’re really good) you’re kicking yourself because you’ve broken them, you’ve eaten that bar of chocolate, you’ve smoked a cigarette, you’ve drunk far too many glasses of red wine, or you’ve failed to go to the gym or do that run around the park every morning.

Perhaps resolutions are just made to be broken?  After all, why do we have to wait until January to kick the bad habits, or to start doing things better?  What is it about the New Year that makes us think we have to do something differently and that this time we’ll succeed?

So no resolutions for me this year, just a desire to make the most of my life, to smile at people and not to regret anything that does or has ever made me smile.  To live life to the full and to love and care for those around me.

Perhaps 2009 will be my year, I hope so.  But if it doesn’t bring about that life changing moment or meeting, well that doesn’t matter.  After all health and happiness, family and friends are important and if we have those in our lives, then we shouldn’t really complain, should we?

Happy New Year, may 2009 be everything you want it to be.

2 comments

  1. […] it’s a day we have to make.  It reminds me of new year resolutions but I’ve already written about how I dont agree with that concept either.  Freewill should mean that we’re not […]


  2. […] year, a new me? But what’s wrong with the old one? January 1, 2010 Ok,  so I’ve written in the past about how I dont believe in making new year resolutions, about why should we have to wait until a […]



Leave a Reply

