h1

age is just a number

February 27, 2009

numbersHow important is age to you?  Is it something you worry about, seriously worry about, or is it just a number, a representation of when you were born, telling a little about your own personal history?

I guess I don’t wake up every morning & think “gosh I’m 25 years old, aren’t I young”, (well I’m not, so I wouldn’t!) or “oh no I’m 49, I’m soooo old” (and that wouldn’t be true either). But what I’m getting at is, is age really that important?

I don’t think so.  Why should it be? Why do we sometimes live our lives worrying about our age? After all, it’s not something that we can actually do anything about, is it? It’s just one thing that we have to learn to accept as fact and move on from, not worry about. Someone told me recently, your age isn’t your life, it’s just a number, it’s what you do with it that’s important. Such true words.

If people don’t know your real age, can they guess accurately?  I must admit I was more than a little pleased when someone recently told me they thought I was 10 years younger than I really am.  If I’m honest it was quite a boost to my self confidence 🙂 The fact that this person didn’t know me, but from what they saw they believed me to be young, well isn’t that what we all want.?

You’re only as old as you feel, they say, or is it as young as you feel?  In my head I’m 21 – I don’t feel any different.  Sure I’ve seen & done loads in the years since I actually was 21 and I suppose I’m older & wiser in many respects, but still I don’t think it matters, does it?

I’m going to give the last words on this to Abraham Lincoln, whose quote is rather apt:

“And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count.
It’s the life in your years.”

Leave a Reply

