h1

A new year, a new me? But what’s wrong with the old one?

January 1, 2010

Ok,  so I’ve written in the past about how I dont believe in making new year resolutions, about why should we have to wait until a specific date to think about making positive changes in our lives.  As we now find ourselves in 2010, a new day, a new week, a new month, a new year, even a new decade, my thoughts havent really changed, however I am using this occasion as a time to reflect & think about my life.

January used to just be another month, well January to be precise, but in the last few years I’ve found myself disliking it.  Perhaps it’s the anticlimax after all the festivities in the past week, or perhaps it’s the sense of fear about the future or regret about the past, or the feeling that I’ve failed somehow or that the world actually expects me to be full of enthusiasm for a new year, in wonderment of what’s to come?   I really dont know.  But this year I want this to be different.  I dont want to spend the next 4 weeks feeling miserable.  I dont want to look back at all the bad things that have happened in the past year.  I dont want to be fearful of what lies ahead.  I just want to be me!  I want to be positive.  I want to be happy.  I want to enjoy my life.

Hmm, so how exactly do I go about that?

To be honest I dont know, but I just heard someone on the radio saying that their new year resolution was to do something special every month.  I think that’s a good place to start.  Plan to do things which are different which make me happy.  Perhaps that’s a good place to start this new year, focusing on doing stuff which brings good feelings?

I really dont know, but that’s where I’m going to start.  Now to start on that list … 🙂

3 comments

  1. […] « Déjà Vu? Those special things January 19, 2010 So I said in an earlier post how I liked an idea I’d heard to do something special every month in 2010.  I duly went away […]


  2. […] and look forward with hope, anticipation and all the best intentions for 2011.  I’ve said on several occasions how I dont really like New Year – I’m not keen on any days where the expectations of […]


  3. […] never been a fan of New Year.  I’ve said in the past how I don’t do resolutions and how I don’t really get New Year.  This year, right now, […]



Leave a Reply

