h1

Photography by the blind

January 20, 2010

I just stumbled across a link in my RSS feeds to a news item on the BBC website which intrigued me, so I just had to follow it.  After all, the idea of blind people taking photos, well it just seems unbelievable, unusual & yet fascinating.

The link took me to a page which explained how some blind people have been taught to take sensory photos.  There is an accompanying slideshow of some of these images and I think you’ll agree that as well as illustrating a fascinating insight into a life of blindness, many of these photographs are actually outstanding.  What makes this all the more poignant I guess is that the photographers will never be able to see the fruits of their work.  Quite a sobering thought.

But dont just take my word for it, check them out for yourself here or go along to the exhibition of the works in London.

Leave a Reply

