h1

Equality, who needs it?

June 3, 2010

Ok, so is it wrong that I dont care that women are in the minority in the cabinet or even if Parliament?  That I’m not bothered that there are less of my sex representing us in politics?  Should I really be fighting for the cause & arguing inequality &  moaning that politicians just arent representative of the population as a whole?

After all I’ve been encouraged my entire life to strive for the best, encouraged that I’m just as capable as anyone else and given every opportunity to do well.  Does that mean I’m now letting the side down so to speak by not shouting for the rights of women everywhere?

But why?  If  I just dont care and am not worried about it – and to be honest I’m not – then why is that wrong?

Ever since the election I’ve been hearing this argument on the radio, reading it in the newspapers & now I’ve just watched it on television.  Maybe it’s just me, but I’m sorry, I simply dont care.  I’m really not bothered about it & I dont see it as necessarily being a bad thing.

Why do we always have to insist on equality?  Isnt this just another case of political correctness gone wrong?  At the end of the day, if we’re just increasing the number of women, or chinese people, or people aged 46, or any other demographic group that you might choose to identify, simply for the sake of appearances, then we might as well not bother!  What are we really trying to achieve?

Surely we just want the best people in the job.  In my opinion there’s already far too much discrimination going on just to keep the figures “correct”.  Only last week I was told how a certain group of people applying for work in a particular sector have to automatically get job interviews to proof that they are not being discriminated against.  For goodness sake!  How on earth can that be equality?

I’m not saying we should go back to how things were when our grandparents or perhaps parents were young, although they werent necessarily bad times.  What I am saying is we need to have a bit of perspective about these things & quit arguing for that equality when it isnt always needed.

Leave a Reply

