h1

Census forms

March 7, 2011

Well how exciting.  This evening I got home to find an A4 envelope had been delivered.  This isn’t just any old envelope, it’s the envelope which contains the census forms for the 2011 Census.  Many people might not be excited by this, but as someone who has been researching their own family history for a number of years, and who has spent many hours pouring over old census returns looking for snippets about my ancestors and insights into their lives, well for me it’s exciting.

I’m looking forward to filling in the forms in my own fair hand.  I won’t be completing them online because I know how great it is to actually see your ancestors own handwriting.  I just hope that there will be some ancestors who will be interested enough in finding out about me 100 years from now!

Leave a Reply

