h1

Trying times

July 10, 2011

I’ve been working for almost 17 years now. I know that to some of you that might sound like an eternity but to others it must sound like I’m fresh out of nappies!  Well anyway, during that 17 years there have been a variety of moments and experiences, some highs and some lows but I can honestly say that the past couple of weeks have been amongst the most challenging – and unfortunately not in a good way. And if i’m really honest, yesterday was perhaps the worst day of my working life, period!  And that takes some doing seeing as I was made redundant from my last employer.

I don’t know what you do to overcome moments like these, times which challenge you to the utmost.  How do you actually shrug your shoulders, turn the other cheek, pick yourself up & carry on, and all those other cliches? They say forgive and forget, and ok, an apology does help to a certain degree but right now I can’t seem to get over that hurt, that feeling of utter dispair when I really didn’t know what I could do & where I could turn. (Although I was fortunate to stumble across a colleague at that point, which helped a little at the time of most despair!)

So in an attempt to try & move on, here I am back at my blog again, trying to find that cathartic feeling that so often comes from physically putting words down in print. Yes, I’ve neglected my blog in recent months.  Perhaps that indicative of all the thing that have been going on in my life lately.  They’ve certainly not all been bad things either. Actually despite some incredibly busy times, there have been many fantastic and memorable moments lately.  I guess the challenge now is to push those experiences to the forefront of my mind and to bury away the bad experiences of the past few weeks.

What is it they say? Everything happens for a reason.  These moments are made to strengthen us?  God only challenges us as much as he knows we can bear?

Hmm, right now it’s really kinda hard to see that silver lining or the brightness on the horizon ahead of me. I only hope that I’ll get there soon cos in the meantime I have work to do & I have to face some difficult individuals on a daily basis.  Definitely time for a self pep talk me thinks! 🙂

One comment

  1. Hey, sounds like tough times are about, but stick with it all lady, be strong. You’ll be good, I’ve absolutely no doubt.



Leave a Reply

