h1

Prayer for a loved one

November 14, 2013

Sometimes you can feel really helpless, like no matter what you say it just isn’t making a difference.  Other people’s situations can just be too much & helping them to cope can be difficult.  Your inability to be able to solve the problem can make you very frustrated.  And your love for that person just brings you to tears.

I found myself there right now.  What can I do?  What can I say to ease their fears?  What can I do to make them feel better?  What should I be doing differently to help?

Unfortunately I don’t have the answer.  Experience is showing me that I really can’t change the situation however much I wish I could.  And as much as I want to be there all the time to help, I can’t do that either.  So what is the solution?  Right now, all I can do is pray and trust that will be enough, that things will improve, worries & fears will be taken away and soon a sense of normality will return.

praying-handsLord

Right now I ask you to put your arm around those people dearest to me.  Ease those worries & fears.  Comfort & strengthen them in their time of need.  Lift away those feelings of uncertainty and replace them with confidence & a new sense of certainty. Help me to be there to support at this time and bring us all through this with a new sense of understanding for one another and the surety that everything will be alright.

Amen

Someone shared these words with me today, words which they are turning to for support during their own difficult time.  I pray that I will be able to do the same right now:
“Why should I worry & fret when I can cast my anxiety on Christ who cares for me?” 1 Peter 5:7

Leave a Reply

