h1

Birthday dilemmas

January 5, 2014

There are a couple of drawbacks about having a birthday at this time of year. There’s the obvious fact that people forget. And by people I don’t just mean acquaintances, I mean family or good friends.  Praps it’s just me but if I don’t get the card on my birthday, then I may as well not get it.  I mean, I know there are bank holidays at this time of year but equally my birthday has always been the same time.  Sometimes I feel like shouting at people to get their act together!  Buy a diary.  Set a reminder on your phone.  Anything. Cos to be brutally honest, no, it’s not alright to forget just because it’s Christmas time and you’re busy.  But I digress!

The main drawback for birthdays at the end of the year is in trying to arrange doing something with friends.  It seems I have to arrange my own birthday celebrations cos besides the traditional family meal out on the day, no-one ever suggests anything.  So this year, as in previous years I’ve taken the bull by the horns and arranged my own thing, part of my mission to keep myself busy & occupied with fun things.  Sadly though, I was a little disillusioned yet again.  People just don’t seem to want to put themselves out.  Numbers were already down cos people are away visiting but from those who are around, as usual, I find myself being let down & disappointed. Hmm, not good.

I must add at this point that I did have a really good evening though with 3 friends (one of whom I’d never met before this evening!) and so it wasn’t a disaster, far from it in fact, although I do have a house full of food that hasn’t been eaten now!  Eek!

So should I not bother in future?  Should I just resign myself to the fact that people aren’t interested enough in helping me celebrate?

No.  I’m not the sort of person to do that.  It’s not in my nature to give up on people.  So who knows, perhaps this time next year I’ll be writing a similar post but I live in hope that that won’t be the case.

Leave a Reply

