h1

You should be writing!

August 2, 2015

you-should-be-writingSometimes I want to write. I feel I have words that I need to get out. I have something to say. The trouble is, I don’t always actually know what that is. Right now is one if those tines. I need to write, to express myself, to get something out there. Usually I find that once I start writing the words just seem to flow.

I heard a couple of musicians speak about writing music the other day. Interestingly they said that if a song doesn’t work within a few minutes, then it’s wrong & so they just move onto the next, that their best works aren’t actually planned, they just happen almost as though they are fortunate enough to be in the right place at the right time to receive them from the universe. Interesting concept. Not sure if I agree with that idea completely, I mean it would be pretty sad if you missed out on writing the best music ever just because you weren’t there on that specific day, but I can certainly understand the concept. In the past I’ve started many posts on here but haven’t completed them. Maybe it just wasn’t the right time for them. Perhaps I’ll even return to some of them, one day, soon. Who knows?

So back to the here & now. I guess I’ve missed writing. I like the sense of accomplishment that creating words gives me. It’s important to have that, to feel that you can contribute something worthwhile maybe not necessarily to the world but at least to your little corner of it. It might not be as useful as a scientific of medical advancement. It might not be the answer to the world’s problems or the solution to achieving world peace. But at the end of the day, we can’t all produce that level of accomplishment. For some of us self success is much simpler & down to earth. The little things are just as important, perhaps even more so.

For now, I’ll just continue to write. To put letters together and string words next to words. Hopefully I’ll be able to at least create something interesting with them. And I’ll continue writing, striving to touch something in people or to creating that novel which is apparently within all of us, just waiting to get out there!

Thanks for the encouragement to do just that – you know who you are x

 

ps. you know there’s even a ‘youshouldbewriting’ hashtag out there!

Leave a Reply

