h1

Broken

August 9, 2015

Antique-PianoI’m a pianist. I’ve been playing the piano for as long as I’ve been walking. Apparently as soon as I could stand I was over at the piano trying to play so it was only natural for me to have lessons from a very early age. I might not be a professional and I’m certainly a bit more rusty nowadays but nevertheless, I’m a pianist. Music is embedded deep in my soul, it’s part of me and I can’t imagine life without it.

So imagine my horror earlier today when some friends posted online that their work to transform a piano into a desk was well under way!!! :O  I was horrified and literally just shouted noooooooo, sacrilege! I told them that they couldn’t kill a piano. They replied it was beyond hope and they were giving it a new purpose. I’ve no problem with recycling or transforming things, but IT’S A PIANO!! It’s not just a piece of furniture, it’s a musical instrument, carefully and amazingly constructed to produce beautiful sounds. You can’t just abandon it as not fit for purpose (perhaps that’s a sad reflection on life today but that’s for another post.) It should be cared for, restored, repaired, re-tuned and returned to its former glory. It shouldn’t have all its musical wonders removed (that picture almost made me cry) & left as an empty shell, a case, a mere shadow of its former self.

The series of photos which followed really bothered me and drove me to my own piano. I just had to sit & play. And as I did, memories of my piano playing past resurfaced, memories of my Mum listening, memories of my first solo in public, memories of exams and practice. Emotional memories. And that’s just as it should be. A piano should inspire, emote, transfix and so many other things. It’s not just a piece of furniture, it has a heart and soul of its own.

So this evening I’m emotional. I mourn the loss of a piano. Madness you say? No, just the power of a piano to a pianist.

 

One comment

  1. […] « Broken […]



Leave a Reply

