h1

Self Isolation

June 7, 2021

So this evening my phone pinged & there it was, the ominous message telling me I have to self isolate for 9 days!

I’ve been so careful. I’ve cleaned everything that’s come into the house and have basically done nothing for over a year. But on Saturday it was my neighbour’s birthday and she invited me to her birthday gathering in the garden. I was only there for an hour, hardly spoke to anyone & tried to keep my distance. It seems it didn’t work.

Sigh

I’m double jabbed. We were outside. I hardly mixed at all. But the Bluetooth app says otherwise.

So now I have to wait 9 days to confirm I’m ok. I’ll spend all that time worrying (I already am) particularly as my highly vulnerable father is still staying with me.

But should I worry? Isn’t the point of the vaccine that you won’t catch it or be ill? I really hope that’s true.

Roll on the 15th!


PS. My neighbour has contacted everyone else who was there & no-one is ill or has reported a positive test. I’ve even done a lateral flow test myself which was negative. So I’m guessing it was a false alarm. I’ll keep isolating but I’m wondering just how accurate is the app?

Leave a comment